2019 NCPEID New Board of Directors

NCPEID is excited to announce the new members of the Board of Directors (BOD)! The new BOD members will begin their duties at the New Board Meeting at the Annual Conference. 

New BOD members and their positions:

  • President-Elect: Michelle Grenier (University of New Hampshire)
  • Vice President: Andrea Taliaferro (University of West Virginia)
  • Member-at-Large: Melissa Bittner (California State University, Long Beach)
  • Member-at-Large: A. Josephine Blagrave (California State University, Chico)
  • Student Representative: Emily Gilbert (The University of South Carolina)
  • Historian: Andrew Colombo-Dougovito (University of North Texas)
  • Research Chair: Ronald Davis (Texas Woman's University)
  • APENS Committee: Beth Hersman (Wright State University)
  • APENS Committee: Kaky McPeak (North Carolina Central University)
  • APENS Committee: Brad Weiner (Montgomery County Public Schools)
  • APENS Committee: Wesley J. Wilson (University of Louisiana at Lafayette)

The NCPEID Executive Committee and Board of Directors would like to thank each of the candidates for their willingness to serve in these positions.


Become A Leader

NCPEID has a significant historical, current and future impact on shaping the direction of physical education and physical activity for individuals with disabilities. It was founded with the vision of quality personnel preparation, research/demonstration, and service related to Adapted Physical Education/Activity. Numerous leaders in the academic disciplines of APE/A have served the organization and have helped shape effective physical education and physical activity programming for individuals with disabilities.  NCPEID invites it's members to consider serving in an elected or appointed position as an officer and/or member of one of the numerous standing committees. 


NCPEID elections are held each year prior to the Annual Conference by electronic ballot. It is anticipated that elections will open April 15 and close approximately two weeks later. Newly elected members are notified by May 15 and begin their duties at the New Board Meeting at the Annual Conference. Pursuant to the NCPEID Bylaws, newly elected members will be published on the website by May 15. 

There are four Executive Committee and seven Board of Director officer positions. Approximately six positions are elected each year. In addition, several positions on the APENS standing committee are elected, as stated in the bylaws. Committee member positions are appointed each year for the Membership Committee, Awards Committee, and Legislative Committee.   

To learn more about the NCPEID process and procedures for elections and appointments, please read the NCPEID Bylaws.

Call for Nominations

A call for nominations occurs annually on March 1. Members may be nominated and may also self-nominate for open positions. Please send inquiries regarding the nomination process to the chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee. The nomination deadline is April 1st of each year.



2019 Elections and Nominations

Election Timeline     

  • April 29: Voting opens and members receive email instructions on how to cast their ballot.
  • May 13: Voting ends.
  • May 15: Newly elected members are announced.

Slate of Candidates

The following positions will be voted on during the 2019 election cycle:

Executive Committee Positions

  • President-elect (2019-2023)
  • Vice President (2019-2021)

Board of Director Positions

  • Member at Large (2019-2021)
  • Member at Large (2019-2021)
  • Student Representative (2019-2021)
  • Historian (2019-2021)
  • Research Consortium Chair (2019-2021)

APENS Committee Positions

  • APENS Committee member (2019-2021)
  • APENS Committee member (2019-2021)
  • APENS Committee member (2019-2022)
  • APENS Committee member (2019-2022)

Committee Positions Available for Appointment

The following positions will be appointed by the NCPEID President, as stated in the NCPEID Bylaws.

Awards Committee Positions

  • Awards Committee member (2019-2020)
  • Awards Committee member (2019-2021)
  • Awards Committee member (2019-2021)
  • Awards Committee member (2019-2022)

 Legislative Committee Positions

  • Legislative Committee member (2019-2021)
  • Legislative Committee member (2019-2022)

Membership Committee

  • Membership Committee member (2019-2022)

Nominations must be sent via email to:

Garth Tymeson, PhD

NCPEID Member at Large And Nominations and Elections Committee Chair

Professor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

Email: [email protected]